Naval Postgraduate School
Postbaccalaureate certificate
- Grads a year
- 10
- School-wide completion
- Not reported
View Naval Postgraduate School's Healthcare Modeling and Simulation Certificate
A game design certificate is the shortest formal route into game design: months instead of years, usually at a community college. Colleges report 94 game design certificate programs. Here's what they cover, how they compare with an associate or bachelor's degree, and when a certificate is enough to get a first job in games.
Heads up A certificate can get you in the door of the industry, but getting into design from there usually takes shipped work.
The federal government sorts certificates by how long they take. Here's every level for game design, with associate, bachelor's and postbaccalaureate programs for comparison.
| Credential | Programs | At public colleges |
|---|---|---|
| Certificate, under 12 weeks | 3 | 3 |
| Certificate, 12 weeks to 1 year | 63 | 61 |
| Certificate, 1 to 2 years | 22 | 20 |
| Certificate, 2 to 4 years | 6 | 3 |
| Associate degree | 57 | 52 |
| Bachelor's degree | 90 | 20 |
| Postbaccalaureate certificate | 7 | 5 |
Most game design certificates are short: 63 of the 94 take between 12 weeks and a year. They're overwhelmingly a public, two-year college product: 87 of the 94 school-level reports come from public colleges. That makes them the cheapest formal training in the field.
CostNo federal source publishes a price for a certificate on its own. What IPEDS does publish is each college's average net price, a school-wide figure that counts living costs as well as tuition and subtracts grants. It describes the college rather than the certificate, so read it as a guide to how expensive the place is, not as the bill for one program. Every college reports it the same way, so it compares fairly. The table covers the 82 game design, game programming and simulation certificate programs that reported graduates from 2022 to 2024.
| Certificate level | Programs | Lowest | Median | Highest |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate, under one year | 48 | $2,780 | $8,429 | $22,237 |
| Certificate, one to two years | 22 | $2,786 | $7,355 | $50,504 |
| Certificate, two to four years | 6 | $2,013 | $35,114 | $44,606 |
| Postbaccalaureate certificate | 6 | $13,341 | $20,006 | $31,551 |
Across the 76 undergraduate certificate programs that have a price, the median is $8,429. 14 of them sit at colleges below $5,000, and the range runs from $2,013 at Wiregrass Georgia Technical College to $50,504 at New York Film Academy. Control explains most of the spread. Public colleges, which run 69 of these 76 undergraduate programs, have a median of $8,071. The 5 programs at private nonprofit schools have a median of $33,807, and the 2 at for-profit schools $47,555. Postbaccalaureate and post-master's certificates are left out of those figures because the federal price is for undergraduates.
The same data runs our certificate ranking, which gives full cost points at a net price of $4,400 and none at $21,300. 7 undergraduate programs sit above that top end, so a certificate is not automatically a bargain. The public median is far lower than the private ones, but the range inside each group is wide.
The difference between the college's figure and the program's price is large. Wake Technical Community College's school-wide net price in this data is $8,493. Its own Fundamentals I certificate page lists $912 in estimated in-state tuition and fees for 12 credits, and the Quality Assurance certificate page lists $1,368 for 18, which works out to $76 a credit in both cases. One number includes a year of living costs and the other is only tuition and fees for a short program. Before you compare certificates, ask each college for the per-credit price, the fees and the cost of software, and add them up for the certificate you want.
Length and completionIPEDS files a certificate by length: under one year, one to two years and two to four years. The bands are wide. The shortest band holds every program under a year, and 48 of the 82 programs with graduates fall in it, against 22 in the one-to-two-year band and 6 in the longest. A credit count tells you more than a band. Wake Tech's pages put its short certificates at 12 or 18 credits.
| Certificate level | Programs | Graduates a year, median program | School-wide completion, median |
|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate, under one year | 48 | 3.8 | 32% |
| Certificate, one to two years | 22 | 2.8 | 32% |
| Certificate, two to four years | 6 | 5.3 | 53% |
| Postbaccalaureate certificate | 6 | 7 | 72% |
| Post-master's certificate | 0 | 0 | Not reported |
Most of these programs are small. The median undergraduate certificate graduates about 3.8 students a year, and 25 of the 76 undergraduate programs average fewer than two. Three colleges account for a large share of the output: Central Piedmont Community College, Wake Technical Community College, University of Wisconsin-Madison together average 386.3 graduates a year, about 48% of the 802.7 across all undergraduate certificates. A tiny cohort can mean close attention, and it can also mean a program that runs only some years, so confirm the certificate is open for the term you want.
The completion figures need the most care. IPEDS does not publish a completion rate for a certificate on its own. The only rate available is the college's eight-year rate for all entering students, full-time and part-time, in every program. Across the 72 undergraduate certificates at colleges that report one, that school-wide rate runs from 16% to 89%, and the median across all 82 programs is 33%. Read it as a measure of the college, never as the share of certificate students who finish. A low rate at a community college where many students attend part-time says little about how a short certificate at that college turns out.
What you learnA certificate strips a degree down to the game courses. When you compare course lists, look for an introduction to game design, a commercial game engine, some scripting, 2D or 3D art basics, and at least one project where you finish a small game. What a certificate leaves out is general education, the depth of a four-year program, and the long team projects that end a bachelor's.
That's the trade. A certificate is fast and cheap and it gets you making games. It won't, on its own, give you the portfolio of a student who spent four years on teams. If you take one, make the most of the project courses and keep building on your own afterward.
ComparisonA postbaccalaureate certificate is a graduate-level program for people who already hold a bachelor's degree. 6 of them in game design, game programming and simulation had graduates from 2022 to 2024: 6 postbaccalaureate and 0 post-master's. 5 are at public universities. Only 3 are game design certificates, and the rest are simulation and modeling certificates, so read the title closely. A certificate in serious games or simulation design is a different product from one in commercial game production.
These postbaccalaureate and post-master's certificates in game design, simulation and game programming all had graduates from 2022 to 2024 (graduates a year is the certificate's own average). The completion figure is school-wide: the university's eight-year rate for all entering students, not this certificate's. Net price is left out because the federal figure is for undergraduates.
Postbaccalaureate certificate
View Naval Postgraduate School's Healthcare Modeling and Simulation Certificate
Postbaccalaureate certificate
View University of Dayton's Certificate in Modeling & Simulation
Postbaccalaureate certificate
Postbaccalaureate certificate
View Michigan State University's Serious Game Design Certificate (M.A. Certificate)
Postbaccalaureate certificate
View University of Missouri-Columbia's Serious Game and Simulation Design, Graduate Certificate
Postbaccalaureate certificate
View Commonwealth University of Pennsylvania's Instructional Game Design Certificate
Together they graduate about 35 students a year, against 802.7 for the undergraduate certificates, and the median postbaccalaureate program graduates 7 a year. They are the thinnest part of the field, which is one reason to read each school's page rather than lean on a label.
Two schools show what the label can mean. Michigan State's game-related graduate certificate is the Serious Game Design and Research certificate. The college's page says applicants must have completed a bachelor's degree, that non-MSU students can take it as a stand-alone, 3-course graduate certificate, and that courses can be taken on campus or fully online. It also says up to 9 certificate credits can transfer toward a master's degree.
The University of Missouri reports a postbaccalaureate certificate too, and its Serious Games and Simulation Design certificate is a 16-credit program delivered 100 percent online. The school asks for a GPA of 3.0 or higher on the last 60 hours of undergraduate work and gives an illustrative program cost of $6,318.40, with the note that hours and fees vary. Its credits may also be applied toward the school's master's and education specialist programs in learning technologies.
Both examples are aimed at educational and serious games, and both are built to feed a graduate degree. That is typical of the fine print worth checking. Ask whether the certificate leads to commercial game work or to teaching and training, whether it requires a particular undergraduate background, and whether the credits count if you later enroll in a master's. If you want a studio design job and have a degree in an unrelated field, compare a certificate like these against a game design master's before choosing.
Where they are taughtIPEDS classifies every institution by the length of the longest program it offers. Here the 76 undergraduate certificate programs are split that way: institutions whose highest level is under four years, which are mostly community and technical colleges, and four-year institutions, which also award bachelor's degrees.
| School type | Programs | Graduates a year | Median net price |
|---|---|---|---|
| Two-year and shorter institutions | 50 | 634.3 | $6,970 |
| Four-year institutions | 26 | 168.3 | $13,166 |
Two-year and shorter institutions run 50 of the 76 programs and graduate about 79% of the students. The 26 programs at four-year institutions are smaller. They graduate 168.3 a year in total, at a median school-wide net price of $13,166 against $6,970 at the two-year institutions.
The practical difference is what comes next. A community college certificate sits beside the college's associate degree, which makes stacking and transfer a natural question. A university certificate is offered by an institution that also awards bachelor's degrees, so ask whether the same courses count toward one. Either way, ask the registrar which credits are accepted before you pay for them.
PathwaysSome community colleges build short certificates as steps toward a degree, so the first one you finish is also credit toward the associate. Wake Technical Community College in North Carolina is a clear case. Its pages describe Fundamentals I as the first in a series of four certificates toward its Simulation and Game Development degree, Fundamentals II as the second, and the Quality Assurance certificate as the third. The first two are 12 credits each and the Quality Assurance certificate is 18.
That structure lets a student earn a credential after one 12-credit step and keep going, rather than committing to a two-year degree up front. Wake Tech reports about 166 certificate graduates a year in this data, one of the largest cohorts of any college. The pages do not say how many certificate credits count toward the degree, so confirm that with an advisor before you plan around it.
Wake Tech is the one college where we confirmed a stackable pathway on its own pages, so treat it as an example of what to look for rather than a rule about all colleges. Other colleges in the data may offer the same, and some certificates are standalone. When you compare programs, ask three questions. Is the certificate listed as part of a degree pathway? Do all of its courses appear in the associate degree's course list? And does the college count the certificate as a credential on its own, or only as progress toward the degree? The answers decide whether a certificate is a detour or a first step. The associate degree ranking shows where the degree end of the path leads.
Getting hiredSometimes. Game design has no license and studios hire on portfolio. In O*NET's survey of video game designers, 25% said a new hire needs only a high school diploma or less, while 55% said a bachelor's degree. So a degree is the norm for design jobs, not a rule.
The certificate route works best in three situations. You already have a bachelor's in another field and want to move into games. You're aiming for QA testing, where in O*NET's survey 9% of respondents said a postsecondary certificate was what a new hire needed. The federal QA occupation's lowest-paid 10% earned under $61,440. Or you want to try game development cheaply before deciding on a degree. The game tester guide covers the QA route.
Where a certificate falls short is the design job itself. With a median of $104,000 for the occupation game designers are counted in, design roles attract applicants with degrees and long portfolios. A certificate can get you in the door of the industry. Getting into design from there usually takes shipped work.
Who it suitsCareer changers with a degree. If you already have a bachelor's, in computer science, art, writing or anything else, a certificate adds the game-specific skills without repeating general education. A postbaccalaureate certificate is built for exactly this, and colleges report 7 of them in game design.
High school graduates testing the water. A short certificate at a public college is a low-cost way to find out whether you like making games before you commit four years and a lot more money to a bachelor's.
People aiming at QA or entry-level studio work. If your goal is to get inside a studio and learn on the job, a certificate plus a few finished games is a realistic start.
Not ideal for: anyone set on a design role at a large studio with no other degree. That path usually runs through a bachelor's and a longer portfolio.
After itA certificate is a start, not a finish line. Keep making games, enter game jams, and publish small projects so your portfolio keeps growing. If you want a design job later, plan the next step early: many associate and bachelor's programs accept transfer credit, so ask before you enroll whether your certificate courses will count. And if you land a QA or junior role, treat it as paid training. The game design portfolio guide covers what to build next.
Online14 school-level reports of a game design certificate say all the school's certificates at that level can be completed entirely online. That is a school-wide answer, not a promise about one certificate, so confirm the format on the program's own page. For a full online bachelor's, the online game design degree ranking lists only programs confirmed on their own pages.
By stateCertificates are concentrated in a few states. Colleges in 26 states and DC have a certificate with graduates in this data, which leaves 25 states without one. California, North Carolina and Arizona hold 44% of the 82 programs between them, and 11 states have exactly one. Where you live decides how many certificates are within reach, since most of these are on-campus community college programs. Counts here are programs with graduates, not every program a state offers, so a state can show fewer than the federal programs-offered total above.
| State | Programs | Colleges | Graduates a year |
|---|---|---|---|
| California | 16 | 16 | 87.7 |
| North Carolina | 12 | 9 | 466 |
| Arizona | 8 | 7 | 20.7 |
| Texas | 5 | 3 | 36.3 |
| Georgia | 4 | 3 | 42 |
| Minnesota | 4 | 3 | 7 |
| Ohio | 4 | 4 | 30.3 |
| Michigan | 3 | 3 | 7 |
| Washington | 3 | 2 | 15.3 |
| Louisiana | 2 | 2 | 5 |
| Mississippi | 2 | 2 | 24 |
| New Jersey | 2 | 2 | 10.7 |
| New Mexico | 2 | 2 | 2.3 |
| Utah | 2 | 2 | 11.3 |
| Wisconsin | 2 | 2 | 45 |
| Arkansas | 1 | 1 | 4.7 |
| Florida | 1 | 1 | 4 |
| Illinois | 1 | 1 | 1 |
| Indiana | 1 | 1 | 1 |
| Iowa | 1 | 1 | 3.3 |
| Kentucky | 1 | 1 | 6.3 |
| Maine | 1 | 1 | 0.3 |
| Maryland | 1 | 1 | 0.3 |
| Missouri | 1 | 1 | 2.3 |
| Oklahoma | 1 | 1 | 3 |
| Pennsylvania | 1 | 1 | 0.7 |
For a state-by-state view of degrees as well as certificates, see the game design schools by state pages.
Related fieldsThe same pattern holds next door. Colleges report 16 computer game programming certificates and 193 animation certificates of up to two years. If you're leaning toward code or art rather than design, a certificate in one of those can be a cheaper way to start, and the game design vs. game development guide explains how the paths differ.
ChoosingA game design certificate is a short credential, usually from a community college, that teaches game design and development basics without the general education a degree requires. Federal data groups them by length, from 3 programs under 12 weeks to 6 that run two to four years. The trade-off is that a certificate is faster but is not a bachelor's, and 55% of video game designers in O*NET's survey said a bachelor's was the usual education for a new hire. See the programs by length.
Colleges report 94 game design certificate programs offered in the federal data, most of them at public colleges. They split by length as follows, and the count says what is offered, not how many students finish.
Yes, some game design certificates can be completed entirely online. Across the four length bands, 14 school reports say every program at that level is available fully by distance education, and a school can appear in more than one band. Fully online saves relocation but can mean less in-person studio feedback, so check each school's page for the format and whether classes meet live. See the online certificates section.
For some roles, with a strong portfolio. In O*NET's survey of video game designers, 25% said a high school diploma or less was enough for a new hire, while 55% said a bachelor's. Game testing is the likelier entry point, and 9% of respondents for software quality assurance analysts and testers named a certificate. The certificate helps less than finished games you can show. See the full answer.
Choose an associate degree if you want credits that can transfer toward a bachelor's, and a certificate if you already have a degree and want game skills fast. An associate degree takes about two years, and colleges report 57 game design associate programs offered, against 94 certificate programs. A certificate costs less time but its credits are less likely to count toward a later degree. See the comparison.
A postbaccalaureate game design certificate is a program for people who already hold a bachelor's degree in another field and want game design skills without a second degree. Colleges report 7 of them in game design, far fewer than the 94 undergraduate certificates. It is shorter than a master's, but it adds a credential rather than a degree. See who a certificate suits.
A game design certificate most often leads to entry roles such as game tester, with a portfolio of finished games doing much of the work. Software quality assurance analysts and testers, the federal occupation game testers are counted in, earned a $104,300 median in May 2025, against $104,000 for the designer occupation. Those medians cover all experience levels, so entry pay is lower. See the game tester career page.